Troubleshooting · App Fixes
Disabled Discord Account: What It Means and How to Recover It
Guide details
- Written by
- Truly Helpful Guides
- Published
- Last updated
- Sections
On this page6 sections
There are two types of reasons for why a Discord account gets disabled: automated or policy-based. Both can happen either automatically or after an investigation.
A disabled Discord account may look like the normal account at first. However, over time it will change into a deleted user and eventually be deleted. If your account is reported as being ‘disabled,’ this means that it’s been suspended. But how long will it stay suspended? And more importantly, can you recover it?
Discord has no in-app method of recovering a disabled account. Once login is blocked, there’s nothing users can do to recover their account, which requires contacting support.
Discord doesn’t have a public list of the exact rules for what constitutes a “disabled” account on Discord. There are, however, some common causes for accounts being disabled. Some of these are related to spam or other forms of abuse. Others stem from violating Discord’s Terms of Service (TOS) or Community Guidelines.
Spam or platform abuse
Discord tries to stop spam and platform abuse by using anti-abuse measures. While the exact behavior that flags these policies isn’t known, some people have shared that certain actions cause an account to be flagged.
These could include:
- Creating many bots or other fake accounts.
- Spaming with messages.
- Sharing links to phishing pages.
Some people have also suggested that sharing links or images of content that violate Discord’s guidelines can lead to an account being flagged.
Sometimes, Discord disables an account without explaining why
If you’re unsure if your account has been disabled, you might see a message like the one below:
This account has been disabled.
This message might pop up while viewing a message thread, within the Discord client itself, or when attempting to sign in. This usually occurs if someone reports your account to Discord or if a moderator takes action against it.
When does a disabled Discord account become permanently deleted?
A disabled Discord account typically becomes permanently deleted once the user can’t log into it. However, there are exceptions.
The following describes how an account progresses toward deletion once it has been disabled:
- The initial 14 days
- Switching to ‘deleted user’ after ~14 days
- The account holder cannot log in throughout
Discord’s definition of a ‘disabled’ account
While most people would assume that a disabled account is permanent, this is not always true. In fact, the difference between a disabled account and an instant permanent delete may appear subtle. For example, when you receive a message like the one above, your account may not yet have been deleted. That said, the user who sent it probably doesn’t know what they’re talking about. As one Reddit user explains:
You don’t lose access to your messages. They’re still stored. You just can’t delete them anymore. I’m assuming that the person that sent the message is simply wrong.
How much access and capabilities does a disabled account have?
Discord’s help documentation states:
Once an account is disabled, you will no longer have access to your messages, files, etc. This is different than an instant delete because we’ve attempted to contact the user before disabling their account. We also try our best to restore your account if we find out you were falsely accused or were banned by accident. We do this via our support team.
However, some users believe that this isn’t entirely accurate. One Reddit user notes that even if you’ve been temporarily disabled, you can still manage or delete your own data. Another points out that emailing the support team results only in a soft-delete.
In short, there are some things that you can’t do:
- Log in to the account (which is the main issue)
- Delete your own account through the normal process
- Delete your own messages
But private messages remain stored and accessible to other users.
How do you recover a disabled Discord account?
Discord does not have an in-app recovery option for disabled accounts. Instead, you need to contact Discord directly. According to its help documentation:
To get assistance with your Discord account, please visit https://dis.gd/support. We recommend doing this in English, as it may take longer to respond in another language.
If you don’t want to use Discord’s customer service channel, you can email the support team. However, keep in mind that you’ll likely receive a response that confirms your account has been deleted.